2015 in Review

2015 was a difficult year in running terms.  I started with a mileage goal of 2000 miles.  I ended well short of that goal: 1735(This will be out of italics when finalized).  This is the first time I have not run more than I did the year prior.

The year got off to a tough start.  January and February saw some of the coldest weather I have ever experienced.  Adding snow piled high to cover sidewalks, and roads that could barely handle vehicular traffic; the only option for running was late at night.  This happened less often than I would have liked.  These months did see some of my favorite runs of all time, though.  I have yet to outdo running in a blizzard, roads closed, past the lights of PPAC, and downtown Providence.  Past Brown students taking advantage of the next day’s cancelled classes and reveling on Hope Street, and returning with a frozen beard.

By March I recovered, and April and May went well.  June was okay.  July and August broke me.  The temperatures I was running in were significantly higher than they had been in years past.  The oppressive heat in humidity, both in Brooklyn, and Providence caused skipped runs.  It caused me to stop for breaks, and make acquaintance of Prospect Park’s benches and water fountains.

September and October were both mostly as planned.  Post marathon recovery in November was okay, and December started out well, but petered out.  All in all, I could have been much more committed to my training.  And, with the year’s results, I wonder what sort of difference it would have made.

Highlights:  I PRed in three of the four major distances:

  • Downtown Jingle 5K, Providence, RI: 19:16
  • Central Park Holiday Classic 10K: 39:38
  • Toronto Scotiabank Waterfront Marathon: 3:15:52

 

I really have been enjoying the 10K.  I’m hoping to do more this next year.  With these recent bests in mind, I now know my baseline fitness for 2016.  With no further ado, my goals for 2016:
Fitness:

  • Reach 168 lbs (This requires losing 10lbs)
  • Average 10 hours of exercise a week (running + cycling)
  • Run 1925 miles (2015 total + 10%)

Race:

  • 5K: sub-19:00
  • 10K: sub-39:00
  • Half: sub-1:29:00
  • Marathon: sub-3:10
Leave a Reply

