My Return

Hello dear readers: after a long hibernation, I have decided that I will attempt to revive this blog.

At the end of 2015, it seemed to me that 2016 was set to be my greatest running year of all time. I closed 2015 with PRs in the 5K, and 10K, and even more importantly, was finally able to break the 40:00 mark for the 10K. These shorter distance PRs were a result of my admittedly haphazard training which led to a PR in the Toronto Waterfront Marathon.

For a myriad of reasons, personal and professional, 2016 was not only the most difficult year of my life, it was also the worst year of my running life. Over the course of 2016’s 366 days I ran a meager 937.88 miles. I raced a few times, albeit poorly. While I hoped to improve on 2015, I instead gained 20 lbs, and stopped running with any consistency.

Fast forward to May 2017. As I sit typing, I’m weighing in at a tubby 192 lbs. But, 2017 is shaping up to be improved in all facets. Over the first 4 and a half months of this year, I have run significantly more than at any time in the past. I have had to temper my goals, as I attempt to return to fitness. It is much more difficult running a fast half marathon at 192, than it was at 172.

Goals for 2017 have been set. My resolve has been strengthened, and I intend to meet each of these goals:

Get weight down to 180 lbs.

5K – Faster than 19:47 (this was the time I ran my first sub 20:00 5K)

10K – Sub 41:00

1/2 Marathon – Sub 1:33:00

Marathon – Sub 3:20:00* (*if I decide to run a full marathon this year)

In terms of overall training volume, I am hoping to hit 2017 miles over the course of this year. In the past, I have never run more than 1835 miles in a year, but I’m currently fairly close to on pace.

So stay tuned, dear reader. 2017 is an auspicious year. Share in my success.

Leave a Reply

